215th Street Steps Have Finally Been Revamped

Two years after renovation work began on Inwood‘s historic 215th Street staircase or “The Stairs of Death,” or the “Italian Terrace” as it was called in 1911 —which connects Park Terrace East to Broadway over a 50-foot incline—the work has finished, and the refurbished stairs are set to make their public debut.

Fire Engine Company No. 53, Harlem, 1883

The NYTimes City Room talks about the Fire Engine Company No. 53 in East Harlem, a four-story Queen Anne and Romanesque Revival-style building that was one of 42 firehouses and related structures designed for the Fire Department by the prominent architectural firm of Napoleon LeBrun & Sons between 1879 and 1895.

New $100 Million Development Planned

Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, Deputy Mayor for Economic Development Robert K. Steel and New York City Economic Development Corporation NYCEDC President Seth W. Pinsky today announced the selection of developers to rehabilitate the former Taystee Bakery Complex and the Corn Exchange Building, both located along the 125th Street commercial corridor in Harlem.