Tenant Association And District Leaders Against Fur Ban From Harlem To Hollis

June 4, 2019

June 4, 2019

Dear City Council:

As a group of tenant associations and district leaders in New York City, we hold close relationships with the people in our communities, making it not only our right, but also our responsibility to speak up on their behalf. We are on the ground in our communities every day, so we know what our people need and how to protect their rights. We write this letter in the hopes of bringing our perspective to light—we are against the ban on fur.

We are shocked by the potential ban on fur by the City Council, and even more dismayed by Speaker Johnson’s comments to reconsider the bill only because of jobs without any mention of its cultural importance.

As community leaders, we must look to the leaders who came before us, who made strides for our people, and who wore fur. These leaders and our people have historically and currently faced unfair and insensitive attacks for doing so.

This is more than just fashion for us, it is a deeply-rooted piece of our culture. For this reason, we refuse to stand by and allow the sale of fur to be banned.

A ban on fur would be a ban on our culture, which is unequivocally wrong. We ask that the City Council stop the ban on fur and protect our rights and the rights of our communities.


William Bentacourt – TA President, Gaylord Houses

Patricia Burns – TA President, Lehman Houses

Allie Eason – TA President, Corsi Houses

Leona Frederick-TA President, Metro North Riverview

Andrea Guity – Building Chair Upaca 1900 Lex.

Lashawn Henry – District Leader Part C

Stanley Johnson -TA President, Metro North Houses

Joyce Major-TA President, Wilson Houses

Patricia Metzger – 1199 Plaza Chairman Building C.

Peggy Morales – District Leader & State Committee Woman 68th Assembly Part B

Lecora Okeagu – 1199 Plaza Chairman Building A.

Maria Pacheco – Building Chair Upaca 1940 Lex.

Claudia Perez – TA President, Washington Houses

Harry Rodriguez – District Leader Part B.

Janet Seabrook – TA President, Wagner House

Bridgette Scott – Building Chair Upaca 1990 Lex.

Louis Torres – TA President, Clinton Houses

Theresa Richardson – TA President, East River Houses

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Harlem World Magazine, 2521 1/2 west 42nd street, Los Angeles, CA, 90008, https://www.harlemworldmagazine.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact
We're your source for local coverage, we count on your support. SPONSOR US!
Your support is crucial in maintaining a healthy democracy and quality journalism. With your contribution, we can continue to provide engaging news and free access to all.
accepted credit cards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles