NAACP LDF Honors Civil And Human Rights Champions At 32nd National Equal Justice Awards Dinner

On Thursday, the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc (LDF) hosted their 32nd National Equal Justice Awards Dinner (NEJAD) at the Ziegfeld Ballroom, in NYC.

Attendents celebrated the achievements of several distinguished civil and human rights leaders and raised over $2 million to help further the mission of the LDF.

In front of an audience of 650, Marian Wright Edelman (Founder/President of the Children’s Defense Fund) and Judge U.W. Clemon (Alabama’s first African-American federal judge) received the Thurgood Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award, while the National Equal Justice Award went to Bryan Stevenson (Founder and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative) and philanthropist couple Dr. P. Roy Vagelos (Chairman of the Board, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.) and Diana Vagelos (Vice Chairman of Barnard Board of Trustees and Vice President/Treasurer of the Marianthi Foundation, Inc.).

Additional attendees included author Ta-Nehisi Coates, “Insecure” actor Kendrick Sampson, Miss Haiti 2014 Christie Desir, and writer Jamilah Lemieux. TV and radio personality Jacque Reid served as emcee.

With the mid-term elections just days away, voting was on everyone’s mind. LDF president and director-counsel Sherrilyn Ifill presented a short documentary (produced by filmmaker Crystal McCrary McGuire) that chronicled the work of the LDF and the challenges they face in today’s political climate. The video featured commentary from LDF associate director-counsel Janai Nelson among others and underscored the evening’s theme of “Justice. Equality. Democracy.”

In keeping with that theme, Tony and Grammy Award-winning artist Renee Elise Goldsberry performed the inspirational song “People Get Ready,” once sung by Aretha Franklin whose music was highlighted throughout the dinner.

Related:  Harlem Resident Don Lemon And Others At Fashions Dennis Basso Evening Wear Collaboration

“I’m standing on the shoulders of people who did so much more with so much less,” said Stevenson during his acceptance speech. “My grandfather realized that slavery didn’t end in 1865, it evolved. So he taught his daughter – my grandmother – that she had to fight. We cannot celebrate civil rights if we’re not willing to fight. We’ve got to fight!”

Special thanks to National Equal Justice Awards Dinner honorary chairs Kenneth and Andrea Frazier, co-chairs Angela Vallot and Kim Koopersmith, honorary co-chairs Tony and Robyn Coles and the entire LDF staff.

Photo credit: 1) Sherrilyn Ifill and Renee Elise Goldsberry. 2) Angela Vallot. 3)  Bryan Stevenson. 4) Charles and Karen Phillips. 5) Kendrick Sampson and Janai Nelson. 6) Crystal McCrary. 7) Miss Haiti 2014, Christie Desir. 8) Tony West. 9) David Steinglass. 10) Karen Suber. 11) Marian Wright Edelman. 12) Dr. P. Roy Vagelos and Diana Vagelos. 13) Kenneth and Andrea Frazier. 14) Danielle Robinson. 15) U.W. Clemon and Barbara Clemon. 16) Robin and Carl Washinton. 17) Najma Knobloch, NAACP LDF president and director-counsel Sherrilyn Ifill and Amali Knobloch 18) Sherrilyn Ifill and Jamilah Lemieux. 19) Sherrilyn Ifill and Jamilah Lemieux.20) Maja Fidelia, Pastor W. Franklyn Richardson, and Inez Richardson. 21) Guests. Credit: Bennett Raglin, Johnny Nunez for Getty Images

Harlem World Magazine, relies on its readers for support. You can help us by supporting us today! Your contribution supports more local, Harlem coverage from Harlem World. Thank you!

About Harlem World Magazine

Harlem World Magazine the #1 source in the world for all things Harlem since 2003.

Leave a Reply