Los Angeles: Essence Black Women In Hollywood Awards 2018 (Red Carpet)

March 2, 2018

Kicking off Women’s History Month; ESSENCE turned the spotlight on four remarkable women, during Oscar week, with its popular “Black Women In Hollywood Awards,” held Thursday, March 1, 2018 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA.

Returning to its traditional daytime luncheon, the ESSENCE “Black Women In Hollywood Awards” was hosted by actress Yvonne Orji. This year’s program honored actress and comedian Tiffany Haddish; actress Danai Gurira; Emmy-Award winning writer and director Lena Waithe and actress and activist Tessa Thompson. For the fourth consecutive year, the ESSENCE “Black Women In Hollywood Awards” will air as a primetime special on OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network on March 3, 2018 at 10 pm ET/PT.

Known as an exclusive and highly sought-after invite, this year’s luncheon was abuzz with the most gifted actresses, musicians, executives, beauty influencers and entertainers in the industry. After the intimate cocktail reception, some of the biggest names in Hollywood mingled in the lavishly decorated ballroom among legendary actresses Angela Bassett, Loretta Devine and Margaret Avery, as well as Ava DuVernay; Gabourey Sidibe, Janelle Monae, Jay Ellis, Amanda Seales, Mike Colter, Yvette Nicole Brown, Amandla Stenberg, Rep. Maxine Waters, Jussie Smollett, Susan Kelechi Watson, Angela Rye, LaLa Anthony, Essence Atkins, Kym Whitley, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Tina Knowles-Lawson, DeWanda Wise, Ruth E. Carter, Nina Shaw and #MeToo activist Tarana Burke.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Harlem World Magazine, 2521 1/2 west 42nd street, Los Angeles, CA, 90008, https://www.harlemworldmagazine.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Also in attendance were 2018 Academy Award nominees for “Film of the Year” Daniel Kaluuya, Lil Rel Howery and Betty Gabriel from “Get Out” and Dee Rees, nominated for Best Writing Adapted Screenplay for “Mudbound.”

Highlights of the luncheon included: Lupita Nyong’o presenting the award to honoree, Danai Gurira who in turn surprised her friend by serenading her with a very special happy birthday and cupcakes on stage Presenter Lil Rel Howery presenting to his dear friend Tiffany Haddish as she reminisced of their humble beginnings in Hollywood Tiffany Haddish giving a heart-felt, intimate speech on remaining positive throughout all the highs and lows of life Angela Bassett and “Dear White People” director Justin Simien presenting Emmy Award-winning writer and director Lena Waithe with the first 2018 Essence Black Women in Hollywood Ford Vanguard Award Steven Spielberg sharing his love for Lena Waithe and her brilliant talent via highlight video Lena Waithe’s powerful speech about being true to herself regarding her sexuality, and the importance of speaking your own truth Janelle Monae presenting to her dear friend Tessa Thompson after sharing a story about meeting at an audition for the same part years ago; which neither of them landed Tessa Thompson delivered a powerful and empowered speech about equality pertinent to the #TimesUp movement Ava DuVernay introduced a special performance by pop stars Chloe X Halle, singing their song, “Warrior,” from the “A Wrinkle in Time” soundtrack.

Essence.com is the official site for the 11th annual ESSENCE BLACK WOMEN IN HOLLYWOOD AWARDS and features all the incredible content from this year’s show. Join the conversation on social media by following Essence’s social media platforms and using the hashtag #blackwomeninhollywood.

Photo credit: 1) Lupita Nyong’o. 2) Angela Bassett. 3) Tina Knowles-Lawson. 4) Ajiona Alexus 5)  Sonequa Martin-Green. 6) Janelle Monae. Sonequa Martin-Green. 7) Vicky Jeudy. 8) Camryn Howard. 9)  Lena Waithe 10) Amanda Seales. 11)  Halle Bailey (L) and Chloe Bailey. 12) Edwina Findley Dickerson 13) Tessa Thompson 14) Tiffany Boone. 15) Tiffany Haddish 16) Diarra Kilpatrick. 17) Mike Colter. 18) Jeanine Lewis, President, Essence Communications Inc., Michelle Ebanks and Jamiese Miller 19) Antoinette Robertson 20) Jussie Smollett (L) and Jurnee Smollett-Bell 21) Simone Missick  22)  Ebonee Davis  23) Chandler Kinney 24) Ashley Blaine Featherson 25) Richelieu Dennis . 26) Dee Dees. 27) Phoebe Robinson. 28) Loretta Devine  29).  Jeff Friday (L) and guest. 30) Ntare Guma Mbaho Mwine. 31) Amandla Stenberg 32) Yvette Nicole Brown. 33) Sidra Smith 34) Betty Gabriel (L) and Lil Rel Howery 35) Danai Gurira 36) Gabourey Sidibe 37) Tia Mowry Hardrict and Cory Hardrict  38) Luvvie Ajayi 39)  Chante Adams. 40) Sydelle Noel 41) Amy Dubois Barnett 42) Wilson Sandoz 43) Loni Love. By Getty.

We're your source for local coverage, we count on your support. SUPPORT US!
Your support is crucial in maintaining a healthy democracy and quality journalism. With your contribution, we can continue to provide engaging news and free access to all.
accepted credit cards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles