Alex Soldier Designs Award For Queen Latifah In Fabulous Harlem Style (Photographs)

November 1, 2016


In pure Harlem style, designer Alex Soldier has designed a remarkable objet d’art to symbolize the Princess Grace Awards that were presented at the 2016 Princess Grace Awards Gala held at Cipriani’s in New York City, hosted by Their Serene Highnesses The Prince and The Princess of Monaco. 

alex-soldier-with-queen-latifahThe Awards ceremony included the presentation of the Prince Rainier III Award to the incomparable Queen Latifah for her continued philanthropy across many charities.


naomi-campbell-princess-gracetommy-dee-hilfiger-princess-gracescene-inside-princess-graceleslie-odom-jr-nicolette-robinson-princess-gracecamille-a-brownharry-santa-and-olallarose-leslietiler-peck-and-robert-fairchildkatia-and-sidney-toledanojohn-f-lehman-and-lynn-wyattThe Prince Rainier III Award, designed and created these handmade pieces by Alex Soldier in New York City, who recognized a celebrated artist whose own outstanding artistry is coupled with a desire to encourage and nurture the next generation of performing artists.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Harlem World Magazine, 2521 1/2 west 42nd street, Los Angeles, CA, 90008, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

For the Awards, Soldier designed a stunning work of couture art incorporating symbols representing all three disciplines that were close to Princess Grace’s heart and lauded by the Foundation: theater, dance, and film. It is composed of connected symbols denoting these three art forms.

Alex Soldier Times Square Gallery, New York, New York, 212.354.4244,,

Photo credits: 1) Queen Latifah and Prince Albert of Monaco. 2) Queen Latifah. 3) Princess Charlene of Monaco in Dior. 3) Naomi Campbell. 4) Tommy and Dee Hilfiger. 5) Atmosphere at Cipriani’s. 7) Leslie Odom Jr and Nicolette Robinson. 8) Camille A. Brown. 9) Harry Santa-Olalllo and Rose Leslie. 10) Tiler Peck and Robert Fairchild. 11) Katia Toledano and Sidney Toledano. 12) John f Lehman and Lynn Wyatt. By Getty Images.

We're your source for local coverage, we count on your support. SPONSOR US!
Your support is crucial in maintaining a healthy democracy and quality journalism. With your contribution, we can continue to provide engaging news and free access to all.
accepted credit cards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

AARP Local