Los Angeles: Stars Celebrate The Dizzy Feet Foundation 6th Annual 2016 Gala (Photos)

September 16, 2016

julianne-hough-and-brother-derek-houghThe Dizzy Feet Foundation (DFF) presented the sixth annual ‘Celebration of Dance’ Gala at The Novo last night in Los Angeles. paula-abduljoy-joliseJulianne Hough, Derek Hough, Maddie Ziegler, Paula Abdul, Joely Fisher, Elizabeth Berkely, Mitzi Gaynor, Sir Matthew Bourne, Allison Holker, Piper Perabo and Kevin Zegers were among the celebrities that came to support DFF, a non-profit organization founded by Nigel Lythgoe (American Idol, So You Think You Can Dance)and director Adam Shankman (Hairspray, Rock of Ages), whose mission is to sponsor, fund and/or support access to and the quality of dance education programs that expose children in low-income areas to the lifelong benefits of dance education in the United States.piper-perabo

This year’s DFF Inspiration Award was presented Derek & Julianne Hough. The DFF Inspiration Award is presented to an individual whose dance prowess, talent and gifts have delighted audiences and whose career in film, television and/or theater has left an indelible mark on the entertainment field.
mitzi-gayormiles-brownMitzi Gaynor received the DFF Legend Award. Paula Abdul presented this honor that is bestowed to artists who, through their lifelong accomplishments and exceptional career in dance, have made lasting contributions to dance and influenced the next generation of artists.

tiler-peckmoises-parracofounder-nigel-lythgoe-and-founderproducer-adam-shankmanSir Matthew Bourne received the Gene Kelly Legacy Award presented by DFF and Gene Kelly Legacy, Inc. Kelly’s widow, Patricia Ward Kelly presented this award, which is given to an artist whose career achievements best represent the innovative vision, creativity, and lasting contribution that Gene Kelly made not only to the art of dance on film but to the world as a whole, as an educator and cultural ambassador.


kathryn-burnspatricia-ward-kellymaddie-zieglerPerformers included Maddie Ziegler and Travis Wall, American Ballet Theater’s Marcelo Gomes & Arron Scott  as well as Sergei Polunin who performed his his solo to Take Me to Church. Additional standout performances included Tiler Peck, Syncopated Ladies, Dancers Inc., and the scholarship recipients from the USC Kaufman students, and California Dance Institute students.


dizzy2dizzy3dizzy4All proceeds benefited The Dizzy Feet Foundation, a non-profit organization whose mission is threefold: to sponsor, fund and/or support dance education programs that expose children in low-income areas to the lifelong benefits of dance education through and with local community organizations; to provide scholarships to talented students studying at accredited or nationally regarded dance schools, studios or institutions; and in conjunction with recognized credentialing organizations, to support and increase the quality of all styles of dance education in the United States.

For more information, go to www.dizzyfeetfoundation.org

Photo credit: 1) Julianne Hough and brother Derek Hough. 2) Paula Abdul. 3) Joy Jolise. 4) Piper Perabo. 5) Mitzi Gayor. 6) M.iles Brown. 7) Tiler Peck. 8) Moises Parra. 9) Co-founder Nigel Lythgoe and founder/producer Adam Shankman. 10) Hailee Payne. 11) Kathryn Burns. 12) Patricia Ward Kelly. 13) Maddie Ziegler. 14-19) Dancers. Getty Images.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Harlem World Magazine, 2521 1/2 west 42nd street, Los Angeles, CA, 90008, https://www.harlemworldmagazine.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact
We're your source for local coverage, we count on your support. SUPPORT US!
Your support is crucial in maintaining a healthy democracy and quality journalism. With your contribution, we can continue to provide engaging news and free access to all.
accepted credit cards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles